Perseverance, Strength and the Drive to Succeed

Image Yesterday was the first all-strength workout I have had in almost a year… this stupid pec tear… I am ready to get back to the business of doing business… is it sore? You bet. Am I encouraged? Yes sir!!! I feel like a kid in a candy store when I am lifting… like the drinking party is to the drunkard, as the skateboard park is to the skater, the gym is to me… The gym saved my life… back when I was 20/21, I was a naive, depressed kid who tried to end it all (3 times, I’m not ashamed to tell you). One day, God Himself spoke to me… telling me to look at those who fought adversity and won (paraphrasing). So I started working out… 4 hours a day, 6 days a week. Took me from 331 lbs to 258 lbs in 5 months… Looking back, I saw exactly how I had a God-given gift of lifting… of knowing how the body works (on the physicality side). The gym has not only saved my life, but transformed it. So when other hard times hit, I was less apt to folding and quitting. I once dropped 305 lbs on my chin (true story) in 1998. The lessons of lifting, diet and recovering from injuries (almost ripping my hamstring from the bone doing heavy squats, 765 lbs) has taught me a thing or two about life. And the main thing all this has taught me was to have a respect and a love for conflict… almost to a level of bloodlust (no lie). I remember at times, I would get into fights just so I could feel the sting of punches and kicks… once in AIT (advanced individual training- all you Grunts out there know what I’m talking about HOOAH) I was benching 225 for reps… did about 20, 25 of em… I was so hyped, I got up, screamed at the top of my lungs… then I proceeded to beat my head against a locker… needless to say, people vacated the room QUICKLY LOL. I continue to see just how valuable physical fitness is to me… hope to be able to train people for a living, changing people’s lives through fitness and respect for the body human…

Leave a Reply

